Appendix C

SELF-GOVERNMENT ACTIVISTS, 1973-1976

On December 1, 1973, the others present were Mike Carey, Davis McLean, Scott Franklin, Lester Hiebert, Tom Neuner, Tom Blomquist and Hal Gillaspy. I was elected temporary chairman of the meeting and President, while Blomquist was chosen as Vice President, Carey as Secretary and McLean as Treasurer.

Also, we appointed a nominating committee. Scott Franklin was to serve as temporary chairman, and Hal Gillaspy, Lester Hiebert and Wayne Crawford were the members.

On December 3, 1974, Dan Hon, Jo Anne Darcy, Carl Boyer, Art Evans, Dick Millar, Nancy Murachanian, Connie Worden, Florence Chesebrough and Rick Patterson met at Dan Hon's home in Canyon Country. Petitions for Canyon County formation were being prepared, with Ruth Newhall and Dan Hon in charge of the legal description, and Flo Chesebrough in charge of the signature drive. The next meeting was set for the Valencia Library on December 11, and on December 12 the Newhall-Saugus-Valencia Chamber of Commerce came out strongly in favor of the petition drive.

Thus, the Canyon County Steering Committee met for a small New Year's Eve celebration at the Newhall Bowl on December 31, 1974, with petitions printed and ready to go at the stroke of midnight. I am sure Scott and Ruth Newhall had done the printing. Ruth had written the legal description and Scott had handcrafted a "Canyon County" sign to be placed out front. The petitions listed Daniel Hon, attorney; Judge C.M. MacDougall, ret., and Ms. Lee Turner, honorary mayor, as the three sponsors. I signed as circulator of Petition No. 1, which was filled as the clock struck twelve.

The Steering Committee was comprised of Dan Hon, President, of Canyon Country, Jo Anne Darcy, Secretary, of Acton, Carl Boyer, Statistics Chairman, of Newhall, Jack Boyer, Publicity Chairman, of Canyon Country, and Art Evans, Business Chairman, of Canyon Country. Dick Millar, Chambers Chairman, of Valencia, Nancy Murachanian, Finance Chairman, of Canyon Country, George Wells, Unification Chairman, of Canyon Country, and Connie Worden, Education Chairman, of Valencia completed the roster.

Bill Light had been put in charge of the petitions, and three weeks after the signature drive had begun we had 1,100 in circulation. Lynn Bryan was in charge of recruiting people to go door to door. Pete Huntsinger was forming the Speakers Bureau. Lee and Frank Turner were working on publicity. George Wells was involved in coordination. Dan Hon, Lester Hiebert, Jo Anne Darcy, George Wells and Connie Worden were the five members of the Board of Directors.

The January 16 meeting of the Steering Committee attracted twenty-five people to the Safari Room of the Newhall Bowl on Lyons Avenue. John V. Gally had been recruited. Among the others present were Christy Park reporting for

Signal, Alvin B. Hickox, Ellis and Sarita Boyd, Jerry and Betty Leuthi, and Joyce B. Cummings. It was decided that their should be a seven-member board, with Carl Boyer, Duane Gartner, Peter Huntsinger and Chuck Rheinschmidt to appear on the ballot with the incorporating board members.

Lynn Bryan was in charge of precinct information. Dave Babb and Chet Fortin were active in organizing the business community, with help from Bill Briece, and Mike Corbin was working with the professions. Ruth Ralphs was working in Gorman, while Bill Taylor was helping Jo Anne Darcy in Acton and Dick Madigan and Carl Etheridge were organizing Agua Dulce. Bill Light's furniture store became the focal point of our efforts.

On February 13 we met in the multi-purpose room of Placerita Junior High School, and adopted the proposed by-laws unanimously. Pete Huntsinger announced that his speakers committee would be talking with 80% of the 105 organizations in the valley within a month. Al Adelini, Jack Boyer, Dan Coughlin, Wayne Crawford, Wayne Davidson, John Gally, Jerry Holland, Dan Hon, Neil McAuliffe, Dick Millar, Rick Patterson, Jim Platt, Chuck Rheinschmidt, Bobbie Trueblood, Frank and Lee Turner, and George Wells were the speakers.

The signup slips for the initial meeting of the "New County Formation Committee" were placed with the minute books in 2004, in the old Valencia National Bank vault at city hall. H.G. "Gil" Callowhill, John V. Gally, Michelle Hart, Rodney H. Chow, Rick Williams, Wayne Crawford, Cathy Wilsey, Lloyd Garner, Bobbie Trueblood, Gary M. Darcy, Rick Patterson, Harold Stein, Dr. S. Gershad, William Light, Dan Cowell and Bill and Carol Lawrence joined the effort. Gene Kronnick, Gailen B. Smith, R. Weaver, Sue Harvey, R. Clide Shumate, Eva Mitchell, M.F. Plashon, Karen Cameron and Guillermo Aguayo accompanied them. George Freise, Charles Brogan, Virgil Saunders, Carol Bright, Charley and Christine Eliopulos, John Marlette, Marvin W. Johanson, Carol Skowronski, Bruce G. McElhaney and Alice Kline volunteered their talents. Martha Bund, Joanne Verwers, Carl G. and Jean Etheredge, James R. Gildersleeve, James R. "Dick" Madigan, Don Kelley, and Robert J. "Bob" Lake offered their help. Already involved were Chuck Rheinschmidt, Connie Worden, Daniel Hon, George Wells, LaVaughn Yetter, Marj Akehurst and Carl Boyer.

Alduino A. "Al" Adelini, Don Akehurst, Mr. and Mrs. Virgil A. Anderson, Janet Berman, Bud Weaver and Jack R. Boyer joined them. Richard C. Bund, Margaret Camp, Curtis and Jo Anne Darcy, Elizabeth M. Dukeman, Arthur W. Evans, Harry A. Fedderson, Kathleen Gally, Duane Gartner, Ben Gilmour and Don Guglielmo volunteered. Lester Hiebert, Peter F. Huntsinger, Bruce A. Kline, Paul Kline, Clark Klingler, Charles Bruce Lang, Cheryl Lang, Margaret L. Lowder, Laurie Lowder and Howard P. "Buck" McKeon signed up. Dick Millar, Thomas Neuner, Glenn F. and Nancy A. Nielsen, Robert A. "Bob" Ohler, Bill Oren, Newel E. and Ruth R. Porter, and Peggy Rheinschmidt became involved. Lou Reiter, Beverly Rickman, Clara H. Rider, Dorothy Riley, Bob Rockwell, Joe Serafino, Dr. Patrick MacArthur Shaughnessy, Gerald and Moana Steinberg, Bill

Stevens, Jim Summers and Frank Turner enlisted in the cause. Magdaline Wells, Tim Wells, Raymond Weaver, Ann Weise, and Don E. Yetter rounded out the list.

Jo Anne Darcy listed Boyer, Hon, Darcy, Gartner, Marge Akehurst, Huntsinger, Light, Wells, Worden, Rheinschmidt, Gally, Frank and Lee Turner, and Rich Varenchik of *The Signal* as attending the meeting of March 25, 1975.

Dan Hon announced that Roger Morey and Jack Nelson, the two remaining directors of the Newhall Citizen's Committee for Incorporation, had contributed that organization's funds in the amount of \$3,800. Marge Akehurst, Jack Boyer and Moana Steinberg were attending meetings regularly, as was Rich Varenchik.

With school out, I was able to join Marge Akehurst, Jack Boyer, Jo Anne Darcy, John Gally, Dan Hon, Bill Light, Chuck Rheinschmidt, Moana Steinberg, George Wells and Connie Worden at the meeting on Friday morning, June 13. They voted to return the \$3,800 to the incorporation committee due to questions raised about the committee's status by Andrew Martin.